Sunday, 1 March 2015

(ARC) Book Review (446): Solitaire - Alice Oseman


Solitaire

Publication: 30th March 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 368
Genre: Contemporary
Age Appropriate: Young Adult
Buy It: Amazon * Barnes & Noble
In case you're wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.

Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don't know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden.

I really don't.

This incredible debut novel by outstanding young author Alice Oseman is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and all unflinchingly honest writers.
My Thoughts.
I went into Solitaire not knowing what to expect, the synopsis isn't really clear on the ARC copy so I went in blind, unfortunately this wasn't the book for me, I found the main character Tori's negativity so grating and annoying to read, add to that the plot that was mostly quite frankly boring except for the Solitaire pranks it picked up a little bit towards the end, and the only reason why I read this book all the way through was to find out who the creator of Solitaire was.

I wasn't really all that fond of most of the characters in this story except for a couple of exceptions, everyone just seemed to be depressed or angry or both, it didn't really make for a pleasant read at times, and once I'd put it down I found it hard to want to pick it back up again.

I never once connected to any of the characters and without being able to do that it doesn't bode well for me liking anything about the story, let's face it the characters are what are meant to make the story and draw you in and I found none of that whilst reading it.

Looking on Goodreads I see a fair amount of people have really enjoyed this book and I seem to be in the minority, but each to their own, I may possibly pick up one of Alice's future releases we will have to see depending on the plot of course.

I give this 2.5/5 stars.


Alice Oseman was born in 1994 in Kent, England. She is studying English at Durham University, probably due to the expectation of society, but mostly spends her time obsessing over fictional characters, drawing really dumb comics, and complaining about things on her Tumblr, chronicintrovert.tumblr.com. Hopefully, she’ll avoid having to get a real job for the rest of her life.
Alice wrote a book when she was seventeen. That book, SOLITAIRE, was published by HarperCollins in July 2014.



No comments:

Post a comment