Tuesday, 28 April 2015

(ARC) Book Review (470): Trouble From The Start - Rachel Hawthorne

Trouble from the Start

*Amazon*B&N*Book Depository*iBooks*
One of two companion novels from beach-read favorite Rachel Hawthorne, this cute, romantic paperback original is about a good girl who falls for a bad guy.

Avery knows better than to fall for Fletcher, the local bad boy who can’t seem to outrun his reputation. Fletcher knows he shouldn’t bother with college-bound, daughter-of-a-cop Avery. But when their paths cross, neither can deny the spark. Are they willing to go against everything and let their hearts lead the way? Or are they just flirting with disaster? 
Trouble from the Start releases simultaneously with companion novel The Boyfriend Project. These heartwarming paperback originals are the perfect summer reads, great for fans of Jennifer Echols, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti.

My Thoughts.
After coming of off reading some dark and depressing books I needed something light, funny and cute, and I got that in spades with Trouble From The Start.

So while I found this book to be your typical cliched and cheesy YA contemporary romance, I adored it, I couldn't seem to get enough, I found myself desperately eager to pick it up again once I'd put it down (damn you work), I had flown through it in no time, I just loved everything about it, I would have even reread it again straight away but since I have a tbr pile the size of Mount Everest I don't get the luxury to do that.

The bad boy Fletcher, the extremely smart good girl Avery and the romance they never saw coming, Fletcher has a reputation for endless hook ups with girls, fighting, stealing and generally not giving a damn, Avery is about to graduate high school without having had a real first kiss, first date or a boyfriend, when she gets drunk at a party she's beyond shocked when it's Fletcher who takes care of her and takes her home, neither were expecting the sparks and attraction they shared between them, but Avery is looking for a commited relationship not just a hook-up no matter how hot Fletcher is, and well with Fletcher a girl is lucky if she gets more than one date.

When circumstances have Fletcher staying in the apartment above the garage at Avery's house, they can't deny the chemistry between them, but Fletcher is hiding a secret that stops him from getting too close to anyone, a secret that has to do with the reputation he's famous for, one he's ashamed of, Fletcher will soon find that what he's needed all along is the one person he's denied himself getting close too Avery.

I wish there was more than one book for Fletcher and Avery, I know that there is a companion novel to this book which focus' on Avery's best friend Kendall and her boyfriend Jeremy but it's not the same and I really enjoyed the romance in this story, it just needed to be a lot longer.

A great YA contemporary, highly recommended.

I give this 5/5 stars.

Rachel Hawthorne, who also writes as Lorraine Heath and Jade Parker, is the daughter of a British beauty (her mother won second place in a beauty contest sponsored by Max Factor® during which she received a kiss from Caesar Romero-who played the Joker on the old Batman TV series) and a Texan who was stationed at Bovingdon while serving in the air force. Lorraine was born in Watford, Herts, England, but soon after moved to Texas. Her "dual" nationality has given her a love for all things British and Texan. She enjoys weaving both heritages through her stories.

When she received her BA degree in psychology from the University of Texas, she had no idea she had gained a foundation that would help her to create believable characters—characters that are often described as “real people.” She writes for both adult and young adult readers. She received a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award for Americana historicals. Her novels have been recognized with a RITA, Romance Writers of America’s most prestigious award for excellence, a HOLT medallion award honoring outstanding literary fiction, a Romantic Times Reviewer’s Choice Award, five Texas Gold Awards, the Golden Quill Award, the Rising Star Award as well as other awards and recognitions. Her novels have been selections of the Doubleday and Rhapsody Book Club. Her novels have appeared on bestseller lists, including USA Today, Waldenbooks, and most recently, the New York Times. 

No comments:

Post a Comment